2018 Survey

2018 Survey

With the 2018 primary election just over two months away (on March 20th), CHANGE Illinois, joined by other members of the Illinois Redistricting Collaborative including: Asian Americans Advancing Justice – Chicago; the Better Government Association; Business and Professional People for the Public Interest; Citizen Advocacy Center; Common Cause Illinois; the Illinois League of Women Voters; NAACP Chicago – South Side Branch; Small Business Advocacy Council; and the Chicago chapter of the Centrist Project sent a letter and this 18-question survey on gerrymandering to each of the candidates running for governor to get them on the record.

It’s time to get the Republican and Democratic candidates for governor to state publicly if they’ll support the status quo and rubber stamp the next set of maps that are placed on their desk or if they’ll fight for fair and independent maps for all Illinois voters.

As the candidates fill out the surveys, we will post their responses on this page for all Illinois voters to see before the March 20th primary, sending them to the press, and posting them on social media to hold the candidates accountable on their stance. (Read our press release about the survey announcement here).

In the coming weeks, we will be sending a similar survey to the current elected officials as well candidates running for the Illinois General Assembly.

2018 Governor’s Race

Gov. Bruce Rauner (R – incumbent) letter survey response
Sen. Daniel Biss (D) letter survey response
Superintendent Bob Daiber (D) letter survey response
Tio Hardiman (D) letter survey response
Rep. Jeanne Ives (R) letter survey response
Grayson “Kash” Jackson (L) letter survey response
Chris Kennedy (D) letter survey response
Robert Marshall (D) letter survey response
J.B. Pritzker (D) letter survey response
Matthew Scaro (L) letter survey response
Jon Stewart (L) letter survey response


Follow CHANGE Illinois for updates on Facebook and Twitter.

Get up to speed with the redistricting reform movement in Illinois by checking out our redistricting reform page and our FAQs.

Please consider making a donation to advance CHANGE Illinois’ work on redistricting reform.

Volunteer to become an advocate for CHANGE and help advance the democracy reform movement.